Menu

Location

Testimonials

We value our clients' experience at Sunset Animal Hospital. If your pet or animal is currently a patient, please feel free to complete the survey on the home page and we will post it on our Testimonial Page!


                                                      This place has been super friendly and attentive since we moved from Charlotte. They are mindful and know when shots are due before you board your dog. The people at the front desk are friendly and I have never had a problem. The boarding facility next door the people are so friendly there too. Thank you for always being attentive and welcoming!

Ariana W.



I have taken my pets here for over 18 years. Sunset has been with my family over about 5 pets total now and they are all wonderful. I live in Walnut Creek, but bring my Cavalier here for check ups, shots and most recently, a teeth cleaning. Dr Hill is very thorough and professional with all of the animals she sees and I would highly recommend her. Boarding is also fantastic and I trust my pets with them over long periods of time, if they need to be boarded for vacations or what not. It is also a huge plus that the vet is right next door if there ever was a problem. The negative reviews here comment on the high prices of things, like teeth cleanings. It is expensive to put a pet under anesthesia, but I can guarantee you, it will be similarly priced elsewhere. Another reviewer said they would not let her buy flea meds because her pet had not been seen in over a year. Typically, you need a prescription for flea and tick meds, unless you are buying them at an online retailer. Personally, I would rather pay the vet check fee and have my pup checked out and know he is of good health to get the correct dosage and brand of meds prescribed!

 Hayley H.



I initially took my cat here in an emergency situation. They were the only vet around that was open past 5pm on a Sunday and I needed to get him in ASAP. I came to find out that they not only have great hours, but amazing customer service. I thought Toothless had broken his leg after a failed attempt at a high jump. Sunset Animal Hospital was able to get him in within a matter of minutes, assess the situation and look into every possibility. Turns out, my cat only had a bruised muscle and was being a drama king lol. But the vet was able to explain that since he had never felt that kind of pain before, he had a bit of a overreaction (and when I say overreaction, I mean he was screaming at the top of his lungs, rolling back and forth, and spinning in circles holding up his hurt leg. So yeah, I thought something was seriously wrong.) Anyway, to ease his pain, the vet gave him some pain meds and he was back to his normal silly self the very next day.

A few months down the road, and one of the main reasons I am writing this review, I noticed Toothless wasn't his normal self. He was hardly playing, he wasn't laying in his normal crazy positions, and he groaned every time we picked him up. I knew I needed to take him in the moment he scratched me when I picked him up. He had always loved being held and cuddled, so that was a huge red flag. I called Sunset and made him an appointment for the next morning. Just like the last time I took him in, all the staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. He was seen quickly, and the vet explained different possibilities of what could be wrong. Because his breathing was irregular, they started by taking an x-ray of his chest. After the first x-ray, they came out and informed me that his chest was filled with fluid and it needed to be drained as soon as possible. They referred Toothless to UC Davis, where they specialize in these types of situations.

Long story short, this day was heartbreaking. After draining his lungs, the vet at UC Davis discovered a large tumor in Tootless' chest. The tumor had dislodged his heart. Even with treatment, it was unlikely that he would survive. We ended up making the hard decision of putting him to sleep to end his pain. I went in thinking they would just give him some meds and he would get better, so this revelation shattered my heart.

I went home without my baby boy that night and it was harder than I could have ever imagined. About a week later, I got something in the mail from Sunset Animal Hospital. They had got word of what happened and went out of their way to send me a card signed by all the staff. I teared up when I saw what it was and read all the sweet notes the staff had left. They even picked a card with a black kitty on it, just like Toothless. I'm so glad Toothless got to spend his last day surrounded by such caring people.

I just got a new kitten named Fury, and I will be taking him to Sunset for all of his veterinary needs. Thank you so much Sunset!

Nakoda S.


       
  • "August 2016

    We have been using Sunset Animal Hospital for the past three years and always receive excellent service from the front office staff (Rachel :-))and our favorite vet, Dr. Trott. All of the staff are awesome and I cannot remember all of their names. They always treat our pets well, we are a dog and cat family (we have multiples of each). The vet techs are very in-tune to our animals special needs as well.
    I always recommend Sunset Animal Hospital to my friends and family because of the caring staff and quality service."
    Holly P.
  • "August 2016

    They took great care of our pets and us. I cannot say enough of how grateful I am for each one of them."
    Mike L.
  • "July 2016

    Sunset Animal Hospital is a great place for your animal friends!"
    Jacob B.
  • "June 2016

    The staff was professional, friendly, and very customer oriented not to mention the facility itself was very warm and welcoming. In addition to all of this, they have excellent clinic hours - great for us working folks."
    Naomi M.
  • "May 2016

    I come to this Animal Hospital annually for check-ups for my five furry feline children. I never have any problems with the Veterinarians or the Veterinarian Technicians. I would recommend Sunset to all animal owners."
    Melanie S.
  • "April 2016

    We love Sunset Animal Hospital. The staff and vets offer practical and logical advice."
    Bill G.
  • "March 2016

    We followed our favorite veterinarian to this hospital and could not be more pleased. Everything from the customer service to the care that is shown to our animals by the staff."
    Chelsea K.
  • "February 2016

    We have been coming here for years, and don't plan to go anywhere else. Sunset Animal Clinic takes great care of all the animals."
    Joanne B.
  • "January 2016

    Sunset Animal Clinic takes the time to care for each individual animal and their unique needs. The staff is very professional and accommodates the schedules of all patients and their families."
    Emmitt D.
  • "January 2016

    They took very good care of my cat and educated me on what I needed to know to help my cat live a longer more quality life."
    Sue P.
  • "November 2015

    Sunset Animal Clinic takes the time to care for each individual animal and their unique needs. I wouldn't take my pets anywhere else."
    Mary Kate W.
  • "October 2015

    We absolutely love the staff at Sunset Animal Hospital. We have been bringing our dogs there for about 4 years or so no and they have taken wonderful care of them."
    Hunter R.
  • "August 2015

    Sunset Animal Hospital is the best. Everything from the customer service, the care that is shown to our animals by the staff and the convenience of longer business hours than most other vet hospitals."
    Mara S.
  • "July 2015

    Sunset Animal Hospital is the best. Everything from the customer service, the care that is shown to our animals by the staff and the convenience of longer business hours than most other vet hospitals."
    Mara S.
  • "July 2015

    Very friendly and accommodating staff at Sunset Animal Hospital. I Have been going to them for about a year or so now and I would absolutely recommend them they offer excellent care."
    Tyler B.
  • "July 2015

    I have been taking my pet to Sunset Animal Hospital for about 7 months now and they are great. I am always seen by the vet in a reasonable time. The staff are all very caring and friendly and I am very happy that I found them."
    Krista K.
  • "July 2015

    Sunset Animal Hospital is a great place!! We followed our doctor here from another practice and was nervous. The transition was smooth, easy and the staff is amazing here. We have several pets and I know the care they get it excellent. Highly recommend them."
    Shelly D.
  • "July 2015

    I have been taking my pet to Sunset Animal Hospital for about 7 months now and they are great. I am always seen by the vet in a reasonable time. The staff are all very caring and friendly and I am very happy that I found them."
    Krista K.
  • "July 2015

    Very friendly and accommodating staff at Sunset Animal Hospital. I Have been going to them for about a year or so now and I would absolutely recommend them they offer excellent care."
    Tyler B.
  • "June 2015

    Sunset Animal Hospital is a great place!! We followed our doctor here from another practice and was nervous. The transition was smooth, easy and the staff is amazing here. We have several pets and I know the care they get it excellent. Highly recommend them."
    Shelly D.
  • "January 2015

    "Sunset Animal Clinic takes the time to care for each individual animal and their unique needs. The staff is very professional and accommodates the schedules of all patients and their families. We have been going there for years, and don’t plan to go anywhere else!""
    Erica R.
  • "November 2014

    "They took very good care of my cat and educated me on what I needed to know to help my cat live a longer more quality life. My cat probably has been given some years back to her life with the medications and treatment she’s gotten.""
    Kent B.
  • "November 2014

    "What I like most overall about Sunset is that they are so kind with the animals. I have been a client for over 10 years and have to say that over the transition this year it was difficult; however, they have made lots of improvement and now the staff is very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Finally, they are really kind and concerned about my animals and they are very accommodating.”"
    Kim V.
  • "November 2014

    “Amazing Doctors and they saved my dogs life after being hit by a car!”"
    Victor V.
  • "November 2014

    "I have been a client here for 2 years, and have had life-saving surgery done on my mastiff to tack her stomach here. There have been awesome changes in their medicine in the past year , I feel, especially in terms of technology and offering a more advanced level of medicine (I'm an ER nurse so I feel I have a pretty good handle on things). Yes, the front can be chaotic and there are always emergencies, but that is a priority in some cases, as in human medicine. This clinic shows a TON of empathy for pets and offers the best medical option first. That is the kind of vet I want. They even have an angel fund to try to save as many good sam animals as they can. If you want excellent medical KNOWLEDGE FROM THE DOCTORS, respect of the human-animal bond, and a well-equipped clinic to handle life threatening surgeries, then Sunset is definitely your place.""
    Elizabeth W.
  • "November 2014

    "I am so thankful for the staff at Sunset Animal Clinic. They were able to see my dog immediately in an emergency after he was hit by a car. He had some serious injuries and I know the vets there are the reason my dog is still alive. I highly recommend going to Sunset Animal Clinic.""
    Michele L.
  • "September 2014

    “Sunset Animal Hospital is the best”

    “I want to take this time to tell everyone that if you have a problem with one of your furry family members, Sunset Animal Hospital is the place to go. The staff there is over-the-top great. Each and every one of them were so kind and you can tell they love the little creatures that are entrusted to their care. Dr. Mary Diedrich is great. You can tell how much she loves her job. I was so impressed with everyone. And a shout-out to Tim, one of the techs. I think Miss Sassy Kat has a boyfriend. When we went back for follow up, Tim was there to help and my kitty knew exactly who he was, giving him Miss Sassy kisses and soft mews. Again, thank you. You all are the best.”

    Excerpt from an article in the Daily Republic, September 21, 2014"
    Sherrie L.
  • "September 2014

    "I am an animal lover. I have had various pets throughout my life, and have been to many different Vet offices. Sunset Animal Hospital is absolutely, hands down, the best animal hospital I have ever been to. From the staff answering phones, the techs and the Doctors, they are ALL so patient & caring. The best customer service around. You can tell they truly care about getting your pet healthy. The most important thing to me, as an owner, is my pet's reaction. As soon as we pull into the driveway my three dogs are super-excited. They have had many, sometimes painful, procedures done at this hospital and they are not scared at all to come back! If you love your animals you should definitely check Sunset Animal Hospital out!!""
    Jude C.
  • "July 2014

    The people here are always friendly and the prices are quite reasonable for check ups and beyond. My family has been using this facility for over a decade now and they have always done right by us. We have not tried their boarding services."
    John D.

Location

Office Hours

Monday:

8:00 am-8:00 pm

Tuesday:

8:00 am-8:00 pm

Wednesday:

8:00 am-8:00 pm

Thursday:

8:00 am-8:00 pm

Friday:

8:00 am-8:00 pm

Saturday:

8:00 am-8:00 pm

Sunday:

8:00 am-8:00 pm

Testimonials

Read What Our Clients Say

  • "The staff was professional, friendly, and very customer oriented not to mention the facility itself was very warm and welcoming. In addition to all of this, they have excellent clinic hours - great for us working folks."
    Naomi M.
  • "I come to this Animal Hospital annually for check-ups for my five furry feline children. I never have any problems with the Veterinarians or the Veterinarian Technicians. I would recommend Sunset to all animal owners."
    Melanie S.
  • "We followed our favorite veterinarian to this hospital and could not be more pleased. Everything from the customer service to the care that is shown to our animals by the staff."
    Chelsea K.